TABC Alcohol Management Awareness Program for Retailers

dram-shopThe ability to serve alcohol in Texas is a privilege, so every alcohol retailer must obtain the appropriate Texas liquor license. The problem is that there are city, county, state and federal licenses and permits, and you may not know which ones you need.

This entire process will be much easier for you if you do not try to take care of this yourself. A Houston liquor license service will take you by the hand from the beginning and remain with you until the process is completed. This type of business will ensure that you perform every step correctly so that this course of action takes the least amount of time possible. This service can also help you renew your Houston liquor license, so your business will always be in compliance with the law.

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Alcohol retailers suffer serious consequences when an intoxicated patron or minor injures them self or others after leaving the establishment’s premises. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) wanted to reduce the chances that these unfortunate incidents would occur, so they created the “TABC Manager’s Awareness Program.” This program is meant to be a roadmap that helps managers voluntarily comply with the “Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code.”

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code

Under the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, servers and sellers are required to refuse to serve alcoholic beverages to obviously intoxicated adults and anyone under the age of 21. The code also requires servers and sellers to take things a step further. They must keep a minor from drinking while on the premises, and they must also keep patrons from consuming alcoholic beverages until they are intoxicated. If they are already drunk, the wait staff must stop serving these customers.

Failure to Comply with the Code

Those who fail to follow the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code’s rules will suffer criminal penalties. A sale to a minor can possibly result in some or all of the following:

  • Being charged with a class A misdemeanor
  • Receiving a fine as high as $4,000
  • Receiving a jail sentence of no longer than one year

A sale to an intoxicated customer may result in some or all of the following:

  • Being charged with a misdemeanor
  • Receiving a fine between $100 and $500
  • Receiving a jail sentence of no longer than one year

A retailer who sells alcohol to a minor or someone who is inebriated will also receive administrative penalties that include a fine and the possibility of losing their sales permit.

The Manager’s Awareness Program

The two-hour Manager’s Awareness Program was designed to instruct managers on how to teach their employees to promote responsible alcohol sales. For example, managers learn about the laws related to serving alcohol to minors and intoxicated adults. They find out how they can be found liable for the injuries that these people cause once they have left the retail establishment. They also discover how to determine when an ID is fake or altered.

The Responsibilities of a Manger

A manager has many responsibilities, and the Manager’s Awareness Program illuminates each one so that retailers that sell alcohol can remain on the right side of the law. For example, managers are required to do the following:

  • Ensure that employees are following the rules and regulations
  • Provide continuous education for servers about responsible alcohol sales
  • Create responsible policies and procedures for the service of alcoholic beverages
  • Teach employees how to intervene with inebriated customers
  • Assure employees that if they refuse to sell alcohol to a patron, they will never be disciplined for this action
  • Ensure that everyone knows the rules for checking IDs

After attending the Manager’s Awareness Program, each individual manager will be able to create policies and guidelines for their businesses that will fit their specific needs.

This entry was posted in Selling Alcoholic Beverages, Serving Alcohol at Your Restaurant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.